Sign in to follow this  
scaramoosh

Can someone tell me why you'd make a game of 2013 very CPU heavy?

I don't understand as I'm not a game developer, why we have these massive powerful cards which apparently are way ahead of CPUs in terms of power and yet they go unused. Most games I've played use like 40% of the 670 and 670SLI is just useless, it often makes games worse. Yet we have these CPU heavy games and it usually results in low performance because the CPUs of today just don't seem to be able to cope. I mean I have an I7 980 only OC'd to 4ghrz but it's a 6 core and CPU heavy games still never seem to run all that well.

Yet DICE and Crytek do some amazing work as they tend to push the GPU and especially BF3 I see is really GPU heavy and not so much CPU and the game is an amazing performer. I mean I've played that game with my older dual core CPU, using a GPU I have on my current PC and while it didn't perform as well, it was still really smooth and fine.

Obviously I'm talking out of my arse here as I have no clue about game development, however just from observing, I don't understand why you'd push the CPU over the GPU which seems to be far better.

Because those games don't have AI, massive open worlds, freedom or complexity of any kind.

Next.

not to mention the physics in this game is albeit a lot more complex than that of most "modern" games.

:smash: I fink i like this emoticon a lot. Basically what Maturin said.

Because other developers like to use simple/stupid AI.

The AI took up a whole core in A2, I'm guessing it's the same in A3, simply because of how many processes and calculations it has to go through to produce a vaguely human-looking response and act completely on its own accord.