Sign in to follow this  
Fish911503

Sending Maya Models To Oxygen

I want to build models in Maya and Bring them over to oxygen so they can be used in a mod. I am new to modeling for games. All I know is polys need to be triangulated. On some models I get error:

Extra characters on line (maybe more vertices on face than supported) at line 862,

What else could it be other than n-gons?

Is there a way for me to check line 862?

Can anyone offer tips for preparing Maya models to be brought into oxygen? Like

naming conventions, topology or shader\material restrictions, ect..

I would prefer to work in Maya as much as possible...and only do in oxygen what can't be done in Maya.

Thanks

Edited by Fish911503

Thanks...well I gather from that that uv's will be imported with model. I hope this apply's to .obj as well. I'm so spoiled with headus.

I want to build models in Maya and Bring them over to oxygen so they can be used in a mod. I am new to modeling for games. All I know is polys need to be triangulated. On some models I get error:

Extra characters on line (maybe more vertices on face than supported) at line 862,

What else could it be other than n-gons?

Is there a way for me to check line 862?

Can anyone offer tips for preparing Maya models to be brought into oxygen? Like

naming conventions, topology or shader\material restrictions, ect..

I would prefer to work in Maya as much as possible...and only do in oxygen what can't be done in Maya.

Thanks

1. the model doesn't need to be traingulated. It is advisable to have it optimized and traingulated since DX works only with triangles either way, but you can have the faces quads just as well. Triangulation is a optimizing step in itself, since you get to choose which way the triangles should be inside the quads (i am making an educated guess you are using quads for modelling), and you don't allow on export automated triangulation, which might break the smoothing groups.