Sign in to follow this  
malkekoen

Scripting with false as condition and or

<disclaimer>I am a noob with scripting</disclaimer>

So I have a HC mission where the player is leading a force against a city. 3 different victory conditions are possible, one for few casualties, one for medium and one for heavy.

Ok, so I have a trigger that checks eg. if a tank is alive, and returns tankdead=true if it dies.

Now I want a the end triggers to activate depending on the casualties taken.

So I have eg:

wincon and tank1dead and tank2dead

wincon and (tank1dead or tank2dead)

wincon

But I cannot get the middle one to work. I tried without () as well, and begin to think I somehow misunderstands how it works. Is it only a number, and then how can it be setup?

I would also like to know how you can use false as a condition, like eg:

not or ! tank1dead (which would equal tank1dead=false).

Conditions are just translations to either true or false.

!alive unit1 -- unit1 is not alive. - false

alive unit1 -- unit1 is alive. - true

!wincon -- is wincon false.

wincon -- is wincon true.

wincon and (tank1dead or tank2dead)

This should work as is, have you defined wincon,tank1dead and tank2dead as either true or false?

If you havent you could just check if its defined with isNil check:

wincon AND ( (!isNil "tank1dead" AND tank1dead) OR (!isNil "tank2dead" AND tank2dead) )

Personally i would not define the tank1dead before they were dead so in the trigger checking if they are not alive, id create the variable and then the condition would look like this:

wincon AND (!isNil "tank1dead" OR !isNil "tank2dead")

You can also instead of assigning a variable to the death of the tank, simply use

wincon AND (!alive tank1 OR !alive tank2)

Thank you for the reply, Demonized.

The reason I set up the triggers as I did is in order to add more robustness to the mission.