Sign in to follow this  
Rizzen

AA Soldier, Vulcan Cannon...

Let me first say, that I am using a purchased copy.  Also, I re-installed the entire game before installing 1.30.

Last night I created a training mission for AA soldiers and the Vulcan M113.  I had 3 Su-25's flying circles over head using waypoints.  I set their ammo to be 0 so they couldn't shoot at me.

I hoped in the Vulcan (full ammo) and unleased on them.  To be honest, I never successfully shot one down!!!!  I couldn't lock on to the target, which I've had that problem in the tank also.  However... I lead the target... I pinpointed the target, I had the planes flying slow and low... still nothing.

I then switched it to the enemy Hind choppers and did the same thing.  I finally shot something down!  However... I could see the helo coming on the horizon... so I started shooting... and shooting and shooting.. finally it passed over head and I kept shooting... finally it dropped!  I spent 1200 rounds of ammo on one chopper!  Thats not right...

I then jumped out and loaded up my AA soldier and did the same series of tests.  For one thing I couldn't lock on to any enemy vehicle.  I could lock on to houses, and towers... but not enemy vehicles!? wtf?  I proceeded to try and shoot them without... No go.

I then shot at the helo when it was flying straight at me.  It hit it square and continued on.  I'm sorry, but a stinger missile hitting a helo of any type is going to take it down.  No flimsy rotor is going to keep it aloft.

Even if I'm wrong on how much damage a stinger should do... what is the point of an AA soldier?  He shoots the HIND once and then runs?  He's better off never shooting any Russian Helo.

I hope this gets fixed... We dare not put any Russian aircraft in our game for anything other than scenery.

Rizzen

"I spent 1200 rounds of ammo on one chopper! Thats not right... "